Author Topic: IPv6  (Read 2164 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline K6USY

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 331
  • Reputation: 3
    • K6USY.com
  • License: General
  • Grid Square: DM06CT
  • Call Sign: K6USY
  • Camera: Olympus E-PL5
  • Telescope: Celestron C5
IPv6
« on: June 03, 2015, 05:22:45 PM »
Anyone else have access to the IPv6 internet?

This site supports IPv6 and I have access to the IPv6 internet from home on my Comcast connection.  My router runs PFsense so I'm not exactly running a standard setup but I know a lot of ISPs are finally pushing out IPv6 to their modems and routers. 
73

Offline FalconFour

  • Level 10
  • **
  • Posts: 44
  • Reputation: 5
  • License: None
Re: IPv6
« Reply #1 on: June 03, 2015, 05:23:44 PM »
Damnit, you beat me to it. lol

Check if you're a cool kid: https://chrome.google.com/webstore/detail/ipvfoo/ecanpcehffngcegjmadlcijfolapggal?hl=en

Offline K6USY

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 331
  • Reputation: 3
    • K6USY.com
  • License: General
  • Grid Square: DM06CT
  • Call Sign: K6USY
  • Camera: Olympus E-PL5
  • Telescope: Celestron C5
Re: IPv6
« Reply #2 on: June 03, 2015, 05:25:07 PM »
I was just about to pull your post out of the Recycle Bin and merge it here.   8)
73

Offline K6USY

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 331
  • Reputation: 3
    • K6USY.com
  • License: General
  • Grid Square: DM06CT
  • Call Sign: K6USY
  • Camera: Olympus E-PL5
  • Telescope: Celestron C5
Re: IPv6
« Reply #3 on: June 03, 2015, 05:26:33 PM »
73

Offline deeder7001

  • Level 80
  • ****
  • Posts: 135
  • Reputation: 6
  • License: None
Re: IPv6
« Reply #4 on: June 04, 2015, 12:01:48 AM »
I'm still on IPv4....

Offline K6USY

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 331
  • Reputation: 3
    • K6USY.com
  • License: General
  • Grid Square: DM06CT
  • Call Sign: K6USY
  • Camera: Olympus E-PL5
  • Telescope: Celestron C5
Re: IPv6
« Reply #5 on: June 04, 2015, 12:27:36 AM »
IPv6 working on my iPhone  8)
73

Offline LJD

  • Level 10
  • **
  • Posts: 45
  • Reputation: 6
  • License: None
Re: IPv6
« Reply #6 on: June 05, 2015, 12:42:47 PM »
strangely, my business class internet still isn't running ip6, yet

very werid, I'll call them when it becomes a problem

Offline K6USY

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 331
  • Reputation: 3
    • K6USY.com
  • License: General
  • Grid Square: DM06CT
  • Call Sign: K6USY
  • Camera: Olympus E-PL5
  • Telescope: Celestron C5
Re: IPv6
« Reply #7 on: June 05, 2015, 12:45:51 PM »
Who is your ISP?

I know Comcast was deploying IPv6 on home accounts first because IPs are dynamically assigned.  Most people with business accounts also have static IPv4 addresses.  They should be assigning static IPv6 to business accounts.
73

Offline LJD

  • Level 10
  • **
  • Posts: 45
  • Reputation: 6
  • License: None
Re: IPv6
« Reply #8 on: June 05, 2015, 12:46:44 PM »
Megapath

Offline K6USY

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 331
  • Reputation: 3
    • K6USY.com
  • License: General
  • Grid Square: DM06CT
  • Call Sign: K6USY
  • Camera: Olympus E-PL5
  • Telescope: Celestron C5
Re: IPv6
« Reply #9 on: June 05, 2015, 01:01:21 PM »
Only thing I could find was a post a guy made back in 2012 about a call to Megapath support about IPv6.  Apparently they had no deployment plans as of 2012.

https://thuktun.wordpress.com/2012/12/28/megapath-no-ipv6-plans/

You should not notice any problems yet but IPv4 addresses are running out so who knows.

I help run an 108 site network at work and we don't have IPv6 either.  Our ISP is the Corporation for Education Network Initiatives in California (http://cenic.org/).  This is the same network that all the K12 and Universities are on.  I think they started deploying IPv6 we just have not talked to them about it yet. 
73